I can’t remember if I’ve posted about this before or not, however in case I haven’t I wanted to mention it here.

David A. Scott, who is chairing one of the sessions at the HMS Research in Progress meeting I am helping to organise, has made his seminal book Metallography and Microstructure of Ancient and Historic Metals available on the web as a free PDF. You can download it here.

I think this is absolutely fantastic for students and those interested in ancient metals. I think he’s currently working on more microstructural stuff, which will presumably expand on the work in this text, but this book really is great. It’s also fantastic to have someone willing to just give away their work to those who need it!

 

Leave a Reply

