From somewhere on the internet... if it's yours let me know!

So things in Finds and Features land have been pretty busy lately.

A couple of weeks ago I did a comedy set for Bright Club, part of the UCL engagement and education department’s program of events. It happens every month, in a pub/venue  between Farringdon and King’s Cross, and they have a professional comedian or two, four or more researches from UCL doing comedy presentations on a paticular subject, and a band.

I have to say it was incredible fun to do, and after doing an 8 minute set on archaeometallurgy to a bunch of normal people and making them laugh successfully, I feel that no normal conference paper can ever be as terrifying!

Yesterday I also gave my first lecture. I was lucky enough to be invited by my supervisor to take one of the lectures that usually form part of his undergraduate unit in archaeometallurgy.

I got the slightly nebulous and rather wide-ranging topic of why archaeometallurgists analyse objects and what questions we can ask. But it actually went very well – only one person fell asleep (and she appeared to have a broken nose so I can sympathise with that), my supervisor didn’t interrupt me (so I presumably didn’t miss anything crucial or make any terrible mistakes), and the summing up that he did at the end seemed to repeat everything I’d said, so I think I must have covered everything.

All in all a really enjoyable exercise, with a good bunch of students some of whom seemed very engaged with the subject,  and a great opportunity for me to coalesce my own thoughts on the subject. I’m really hoping I get the opportunity to do that again!

In more blog-related news, I’ve added pages with all my references and bibliographies. Essentially these are themed pages listing all all the archaeological references I currently have in my reference managing software. No editing, no managing, so if you feel like looking or using these, bear in mind that I’m not suggesting these are the best publications, simply that they are the ones I’ve read and used. You can follow the link, or see them under ‘bibliographies’ in the top right-hand corner of the site. I think they’re primarily of interest if you’re interest in archaeological materials, but there’s stuff on theory and statistics as well.

Now I should probably get back in the lab… as much as we automate the process, sample blocks just don’t seem to polish themselves!

Leave a Reply

